Tuesday, May 24, 2022
HomeNewsNAF appoints, redeploys officers

NAF appoints, redeploys officers


The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) has announced the appointment and redeployment of new Branch Chiefs, Air Officers Commanding (AOCs), Commandants of tri-Service, institutions as well as Unit Commanders.

The appointments are coming two weeks after the promotion, and subsequent decoration of about 60 senior officers.

NAF’s Director of Public Relations and Information (DOPRI), Air Commodore Edward Gabkwet, announced the appointments in a statement yesterday in Abuja.

The statement said the appointments, and redeployments of the 23 senior officers, most of whom are of the Air rank, were undertaken with a view to enhancing optimal delivery of the service’s mandate.

“Postings and redeployments in the military are routine exercises intended to reinvigorate the services for greater performance, enhanced productivity, operational efficiency, and effective service delivery,” the statement said.

– Advertisement –

The Chief of the Air Staff (CAS), Air Marshal Oladayo Amao, has approved the appointments and deployments.

Among the newly-appointed Branch Chiefs are: Air Vice Marshal (AVM) Ayoola Jolasinmi, erstwhile Air Officer Commanding (AOC), Air Training Command (ATC), Kaduna, who is now the Chief of Defence Policy and Plans (CDPP) at Defence Headquarters (DHQ), Abuja; former Chief of Aircraft Engineering at Headquarters NAF (HQ NAF), AVM Musa Muktar, moves to DHQ as Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation (CDTI).

Former AOC Logistics Command (LC), Ikeja, AVM Charles Ohwo, is now the Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP), HQ NAF, Abuja; AVM Jackson Yusuf, former AOC Special Operations Command (SOC), Bauchi, is now Chief of Training and Operations (CTOP), HQ NAF, Abuja; while AVM Abubakar Liman heads the Air Intelligence Branch as the Chief of Air Intelligence, HQ NAF, Abuja.